I’ve always been a city slicker. I love the hustle and bustle of the city, the bright lights and the endless possibilities. I’m not a fan of the great outdoors. I hate bugs, I hate dirt, and I hate the feeling of being exposed to the elements.

So when my friends invited me on a camping trip, I was hesitant at first. But I didn’t want to be the only one who didn’t go, so I agreed.

We drove for hours to get to the campsite. When we finally arrived, I was immediately overwhelmed by the smell of dirt and pine needles. I started to feel itchy all over.

We set up our tents and started a campfire. I tried to enjoy the moment, but I couldn’t shake the feeling that something was wrong.

After a while, I started to feel my eyes water. I rubbed them, but it didn’t help. My nose started to itch, and then my throat. I sneezed and coughed.

My friends looked at me in concern. “Are you okay?” one of them asked.

I shook my head. “I don’t know,” I said. “I feel like I’m allergic to something.”

We went back to the car and I got out my allergy medication. I took a few pills, but it didn’t help. I was still feeling miserable.

“I think I’m allergic to everything here,” I said. “The dirt, the trees, the flowers, even the air.”

My friends laughed. “That’s impossible,” one of them said. “No one is allergic to everything.”

“I am,” I said. “I’m allergic to the great outdoors.”

We all looked at each other. We didn’t know what to say.

“So what are we going to do?” one of my friends asked.

“I don’t know,” I said. “I guess I’ll just have to stay in the car.”

And that’s what I did. I spent the entire weekend in the car, reading books and listening to music. My friends went hiking and swimming and fishing, but I stayed in the car.

It wasn’t the most fun weekend I’ve ever had, but it was better than being miserable.

And at least I learned something about myself. I’m not a city slicker after all. I’m an indoor kid.

Leave a comment

Trending

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started